Tis the Season for… Red Wine Hot Chocolate

I read the words ‘red wine hot chocolate’ and I was sold immediately.

In fact, if I weren’t sitting here recovering from surgery I had today, (minor, no worries) I might just go make a cup right now.

image4

image2
While I’m a pinot noir girl myself, I really liked the merlot. Trader Joe’s can be such a great place for cheap wine!

I was on Pinterest when I came across this recipe and I knew I had to try it. My friend Kaitlyn and I are huge red wine fans. We are also huge chocolate fans. So, this recipe was pretty much prefect. While Kaitlyn was staying with the kids she nannies for the weekend, we decided a girls night was in order. Once the kids were in bed we whipped up a batch of this.

Of course, I made the recipe my own and that is what I will share with you below.

 The recipe I found also gave a recipe for coconut whipped cream. Our go at this turned into more of a coconut creamer because we made this last minute and didn’t have time to refrigerate the coconut milk over night. It still turned out just fine. So, if you prefer whipped cream on your coco, be sure to throw the can of coconut milk in the fridge for 24 hours before.

Describing flavors are not my forte, but here is my go at it: It was rich in all the right ways, just sweet enough without being too sweet and you could taste the wine, chocolate and coconut all mixed in one for what made a delicious combination. Let’s just sum it up by saying it was good – really, really good.

The ingredients are simple and cheap.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • ¾ cups Dark Chocolate chips
  • 1 & ½ cups milk (I used two percent)
  • Red wine (I used merlot)
  • Coconut creamer (optional)
    • 1 can coconut milk
    • 2 tbs. powdered sugar
    • 1 tsp. vanilla

 Start by mixing the chocolate chips and the milk in a pot over medium heat. Mix this constantly (to prevent burning of the chocolate) until the chocolate chips have melted and you have a liquid consistency.

image3

 Add your wine to the pot and mix it in. Allow the mixture to warm up.

 image1

While your hot chocolate is heating up, whip up your coconut creamer. Simply mix all of your ingredients together in a bowl. It’s that simple!

 Fill up your mugs with your hot chocolate, add as much of the creamer as you like, and enjoy!

 This would be perfect and so simple to make for holiday parties. It’s also great for just curling up with a good Christmas movie. Don’t forget the warm fuzzy socks, lit Christmas tree and a lit candle to really set the cozy yuletide mood!

xo,

Taylor

Leave a Reply

